Potty Training

This morning mom was a little discouraged with Riley and the progress of his potty training and here is why. She got up at 5:30 like she always does and let us out. She made coffee and about 10 minutes later she let us in. Riley RAN in, RAN over to one of his puppy pads and pottied. Mom said something I can’t say here, then she said, “Well, so much for potty training” and walked out of the kitchen, laughing and shaking her head,  to go tell dad what Riley did.  I was a much better boy than that when I was growing up! Mom says at least it was on the puppy pad. 🙂

20 Responses

  1. BOL

    Puppies! They have minds of their own.

    My husband would take Addie out every night at 2:30 a.m. when she was a little puppy. Most of the time he would be begging her to potty.

    Have a great day!
    Kisses
    Addie

  2. Hi, Rusty…

    Riley will figure it out…At least he knows what the puppy pad is for…

    Abby xxxooo

  3. Oh boy,
    Someone is in trouble! Sky is having a little trouble in that department too. Mom is thinking of moving out until she “gets it”…
    high five paws
    Cookie and crew

  4. Riley will figure it out once he is use to it . Be patient (:

  5. Riley’s got it right. The outside is for FUN and chasing things and sniffing other things and the inside is for BUSINESS. Duh.

    In all honesty though – it took me a seriously long time to learn that weebles must be done on grass outside. And now my park is closed and all I have is cement in this dang city! My folks have been struggling to get me to do my business outside now, and I often have accidents as a result. It’s tricky when you learn that Good Boy Potties happen on one thing and then they switch it up on you!

  6. Well at least it was on the puppy pad & not on the floor! Most of the time I used the floor! Have y’all seen those scented stakes that you put in the ground outside they have the same scent that the puppy pads haves?
    Hugs & Snugs
    Eduardo the Snuggle Puggle

  7. My recipe for Niki is : put the puppy pad out .

  8. We think Riley thinks he should potty on the pad. So he tore back in to pee on his pad! Going out with him and putting a pad for him to get the idea outside might help.
    Hugs
    Sunny&Scooter

  9. Yes, our mom says do what Sunny and Scooter said, and every day move the inside puppy pad closer to the door. Lots of yummy reward treats outside help tool Have no fear, Riley will figure it out.

    Woos, the OP Pack

  10. Oh My Rusty. G-Mom said she knows what your Mom is going through. Midget was not a good girl when it came to doing her business outside. She still has accidents!
    Good luck, and maybe you can show Riley how to do things right!
    love,
    Rambo

  11. Hi, Rusty!
    Riley needs to know what is going out time for!
    Yes, at least he did it on the puppy pad!
    Kisses and hugs
    Lorenza

  12. Oh well, not every pup can be as smart as you were Rusty.
    I’m sure Riley will get the hang of it soon.

    Lickz
    Gizmo

  13. Arrow still does that!! And my human’s are glad it’s not on the rug. I hope Riley is smarter than Arrow. I can’t teach him anything.

    Deefor

  14. LOL Tuffy was hard to train to until he learned he had some freedom going in and out the doggy door. He still has the occasional “accident” if I leave clothes on the floor. 😉
    Give it time mom.

  15. We remember those days. Luckily, they don’t last forever!

  16. Well, at least he still did it on a potty pad. We’ve never been taught to do it on newspapers, pads or in toilets. We are only taught to do on grass only. There are mats placed in the porch but that is ONLY when we have emergencies.

    Butt wiggles,
    Solid Gold Dancer

  17. Oh no! Ahh the joys of owning a puppy. Id forgotten all about it.

  18. Wow. Puppies sure can be a lot of work! I just go out in the grass, too. My trouble is getting my mom to get up so I can go outside. (Sometimes she likes to sleep late.) Maybe your mom should get you to teach Riley?

    Woof!
    Sophy

  19. Ohh, that’s so annoying. But I guess kids will be kids. 🙂

  20. Hmmm. Well Sprocket has lots of accidents. Mom says it is becuase he is very old. But he still doesn’t get in trouble!

Leave a Reply

